Hall of Fame selects local cowboys

SUBLETTE COUNTY – This year’s list of local cowboys chosen to be honored by the Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame was announced Friday.

For Region 10 – Sublette, Lincoln and Teton counties – the names are historic legends who worked and lived the cowboy and family-ranch life.

Sublette County’s 2021 inductees are Henry Hittle, Albert “Bud” Somers, Bill Budd and the Price family of Alex, Clay and Doug with Clure Smith. Glen Taylor and William “Bill” Francis were selected for Teton County.

The celebration takes place Sept. 11-12 to kick off Wyoming Cowboy & Cowgirl Legacy Week, this year at Little America in Cheyenne.

Locally, the Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame’s Region 10 honorees are celebrated the following September at the Sommers Ranch Homestead Living History Museum east of Pinedale. On Sunday, Sept. 5, the 2019, 2020 and 2021 inductees and families will be honored at the annual end-of-season roast beef dinner.

The Region 10 2020 inductees were Jep Richie and Buss Fear for Sublette County, the Stepp Family and Stan Murdock for Lincoln County and Chancy Wheeldon and Kenneth Griggs for Teton County.

For more information, visit www.wyomingcowboyhalloffame.com.