BPHS distributes honors at Award Day


BIG PINEY – Outstanding students received recognition at Big Piney High School's end-of-year award ceremony on Monday, May 17. Students of the Year and Teacher's Choice Awards were given out for each class.

The BPHS Contributor of the Year Award went to community member Jeromy Moffat. BPHS Principal Jeff Makelky stated at the board of trustees' meeting on May 18 that Moffat went above and beyond in volunteering his time and expertise to the district this year.

Moffat served as a volunteer football and basketball coach for freshmen and became a substitute teacher in the midst of the pandemic when many faculty and staff were out on quarantine or isolation.

"He got a good round of applause from all the football players," Makelky told the board.

The top senior academic awards were announced at the ceremony. The honorees included valedictorian Adrianna Ruby, salutatorian Muriel Jones and Jakobi Hibbert, academic honor court.

Six students were recognized for making the honor roll seven semesters in a row – Ruby, Jones, Hibbert, Mimi Anaya, Abby Reed and Maggie Davis.

Due to the upheaval caused by COVID-19 this year, attendance was a challenge. Two BPHS students, Raelynn Mitchell and Britney Jones, made it to school every day and received the Perfect Attendance Award.

Jones took home the Most Improved ACT Award for raising her test score eight points.

BPHS also honored two retirees at the school – Melody Grazin and Teresa McCaslin – for years of service to the students and community.